Community Settings

Find out more about the settings that make changes across your entire Workplace community. Visit the Customer Resource Center to find out more about customizing your Workplace community.

From your computer, click Admin Panel in the top left of Workplace. From there, you'll be able to see coworkers, groups and community insights as well as manage your community's preferences.
This article is only applicable to admins on Workplace Advanced
Functionality on the Admin Panel is limited on mobile, but there are several tools you can make the most of. The following functionality is available for admins on Workplace Advanced from the mobile Admin Panel:
  • Review Workplace activity for the past 7 days.
  • Add People: Add a new coworker to your community by providing their email or by adding them from your contacts.
  • Reporting: Get insights on user growth, activity in groups and the amount of Workplace content your community has generated over the past three months.
  • Manage People: Use this option to deactivate users directly from the Workplace app.
  • Important posts: Review posts that are marked as important. Important group posts take priority in News Feed and send notifications for all members.
  • Administrators: Review all administrators and make changes to admin levels for any administrator. Learn more about the different admin roles.
  • Reported Content: Review any reported content and choose to allow or delete directly from the mobile app.
Note: All admin levels can see the Admin Panel on mobile. Access roles are exactly the same as they are on the web version of the Admin Panel.
You need to be an admin and logged into Workplace from your computer to change your company name.
To change your company name:
  1. Click Admin Panel in the top left of Workplace.
  2. Click Settings.
  3. Update your Company Name.
  4. Scroll down and click Save.
  5. Click OK.
This article is only applicable to users of Workplace Advanced.
Workplace URLs folow this format: https://[company-name].workplace.com/. Admins can change the subdomain for their Workplace once every 30 days.
To change your subdomain:
  1. From your Workplace homepage, open the Admin Panel.
  2. Click Settings.
  3. Click Change, next to Company subdomain.
  4. Enter your new subdomain and click Update.
  5. Confirm your selection.
Note: Changing your URL will stop any links to the original address from working, including claim links and bookmarks.
Here are a few things to keep in mind when you request a subdomain:
  • You can't claim a subdomain someone else is already using.
  • The subdomain can only contain alphanumeric characters (A-Z, 0-9). Dashes (-) are also allowed.
  • The subdomain must be at least 5 characters long and can't contain generic terms (example: automobiles.facebook.com).
  • You must be a system administrator to request a unique subdomain.
  • Your subdomain must adhere to the Workplace Acceptable Use Policy.
Keep in mind that when we change your subdomain, all previous links to your Workplace community will no longer work.
We reserve the right to change your subdomain at anytime due to conflicts with our guidelines.
You must be logged into Workplace from your computer to set or adjust your company's terms of use.
To set your company's terms of use if you haven't set any yet:
  1. Create your Terms of Use.
  2. Host your Terms of Use in a publicly available site.
  3. Go to Admin Panel.
  4. Click Settings.
  5. Scroll down to Organization Policies Rules.
  6. Enter the link to your Terms of Use in the Policies field.
To adjust your company's terms of use:
  1. Go to Admin Panel.
  2. Click Settings.
  3. Scroll down to Organization Policies Rules.
  4. Enter the link to your new Terms of Use.
You can add the following set of dropdown options for profile field customization:
  • Location
  • Department
  • Division
  • Organization
To add a set of values to the dropdown:
  1. Open the Admin Panel.
  2. Click Settings, then click the Profile Fields tab.
  3. Click Set values next to any of the profile fields you'd like to add.
  4. Add set values one by one or by pasting a list of values separated by a semi-colon.
  5. Click Save.
Note: If a profile field was already completed before a list of values was put in place, it won't be overwritten. However, if a user edits their profile after a list of values is in place, they must select a value from the list.
This article is only applicable to admins of Workplace.
Your video download settings help protect copyrighted and confidential videos uploaded onto Workplace. This feature uses encryption to protect videos so that only people logged into Workplace on a supported browser can view them.
Supported browsers and apps:
Unsupported browsers:
  • Internet Explorer
  • Microsoft Edge
You can allow people using unsupported browsers to watch protected videos at a lower quality level.
To enable video downloads from your desktop computer:
  1. Open your Admin Panel.
  2. Click Security.
  3. Click Settings.
  4. Click the toggle next to Video download settings.
  5. Click Save.
Once you have enabled video download settings, you can start to make adjustments:
  1. Open your Admin Panel.
  2. Click Security.
  3. Click More.
  4. Click Video download settings.
  5. From here, you can prevent your Workplace videos from being downloaded or allow coworkers who are using unsupported browsers to watch protected videos at a lower quality. You can also see which browsers are being used to watch videos on your Workplace.
Clicking the toggle Low video quality for unsupported browsers allows people who log into Workplace from an unsupported browser to watch protected videos at a lower quality.
When Disable video downloads is turned on and low quality fallback is off, people will not be able to download videos to their devices from Workplace.
Keep in mind that this setting only encrypts videos while it’s enabled. It will not encrypt videos that were posted before it was turned on. When you turn this feature off after using it, all videos that were encrypted will stay encrypted.
No data will be deleted from existing Workplace accounts after you switch to a different plan. However, only Advanced and Enterprise Workplace customers will have access to Workplace APIs to extract data from Workplace.